greennui

Noirvember

Post by greennui »

Anyone watching noir this month?

🕵️‍♀️👮‍♂️💃🩸🔪🚬💰💸🔫🥃🚓🏦🌆
Evelyn Library P.I.

Re: Noirvember

Post by Evelyn Library P.I. »

Yup! Just finishing up my 4th noir of November, the mediocre Hunt the Man Down. Best I've seen thus far is Lew Landers's only Whistler entry, The Power of the Whistler. Bunco Squad is good too, though not as good as its poster.
Silga

Post by Silga »

I have been doing Noirvember for the past 3-4 years, but I'm not sure about this time.. I've got so many Sci-Fi films lined up, also 1971 poll.

And yet, I have an urge to watch at least a few noirs. Some titles from my noirish watchlist:

Double Indemnity (Billy Wilder)
Kid Glove Killer (Fred Zinnemann)
The Asphalt Jungle (John Huston)
Angel Face (Otto Preminger)
The Harder They Fall (Mark Robson)
The Long Night (Anatole Litvak)
Brute Force (Jules Dassin)
Roscoe

Post by Roscoe »

Dug on OUT OF THE PAST the other night. Mitchum in a trench coat. Kirk Douglas being nasty. What's not to like.
These matters are best disposed of from a great height. Over water.
thoxans

Post by thoxans »

dang. totally forgot about noirvember. already had a bunch of stuff lined up for the scifi and '71 polls. killin me here...
arkheia

Post by arkheia »

Since I didn't end up watching any of my October horror movies, I'll set more realistic expectations for Noirvember and just choose just one noir out of the blue, let's go with My Name Is Julia Ross (Joseph H. Lewis, 1945), to see if I get around to watching that before I make a big list and get overwhelmed by the choices.
ofrene

Post by ofrene »

Watched The Limey at the beginning of this month. feels like rough cut at first but end up being my favorite soberbergh movie along with Che..

gonna watch some noir this month but not sure how much..
:lboxd:
rischka

Post by rischka »

i watched inn of evil and i think it should count :)

i'll see what else i've got lying around :typing: